Friday, May 22, 2009

And the winners are...

Dave Morris, Skawt Chonnz, Matthew Christopher Davidson and Missie Peters! Congrats to Jane Bee for making alternate.

HOORAY (great cheering and flag waving and much crying with joy)

So what now?

Well, your first chance to see this good-looking and great-sounding group is June 25th at the Solstice Festival of the Folk!

Thank you to each and every one of you who helped set up, do sound, door, posters, judging, cheering, performing and beering drinking all season. You are all a TEN!

Friday, May 8, 2009

Oh Snap! Victoria's Top Eight Poets Go to Finals

And what a night it was! With Slam-master Kristy Westendorp in her fuzzy green hat of impartiality and tweleve bright-eyed poets eager to Slam glory.

We heard poems without similes from Matthew Christopher Davidson, a message from the future from Skawt Chonz and a diatribe to shitty love songs from Dave Morris. It was a night of laughter, tears and cheers.

And who ended up on top at the end of the night? Here's your top eight:

Missie Peters
Dave Morris
Skawt Chonz
Jane Bee
Vicky Philbert
Matthew Christopher Davidson
Marla O'Marla
Kat Eschner

Come on May 21 armed with fan signs and lungs ready to cheer, because only five of these poets will make it onto the Victoria Slam Team!

See you at the Finals.

Friday, May 1, 2009

Semi-Final Competitors

Here are your 2009 Semi-finalists:

Dave Morris
Kat Eschner
Marla O'Marla
Matthew Christopher Davidson
Meisha Lily
Missie Peters
Ryefield Ford
Skawt Chonzz
Tom Fowler
Vicky Philibert

What was the critieria for qualifying?
Slam winners were automatically advanced to the Semi-Finals. There were 4 competitors who won slams in the regular season.

The other 8 competitors were decided based on 1)making it into the second round in at least 1 slam 2)having competed in at least 2 slams.

See you next Thursday for the Semis!